Culture: A Wine Lover’s Guide to Umbria | Wine Enthusiast
Wine bottle illustration Displaying 0 results for
Suggested Searches

Central Italy

About Central Italy

The Central Italy Wine Region extends from the western Tyrrhenian Coast to the Adriatic Coast on the east, covering the regions of Abruzzo, Lazio, Marche, Tuscany and Umbria. Tuscany is well-regarded for its Sangiovese wines from the famed DOCGs such as Chianti, Chianti Classico, Brunello di Montalcino and Vino Nobile di Montepulciano. Along Tuscany’s long coastal stretch, Maremma, international varieties thrive. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah have been utilized in super Tuscan blends, according to our Central Italy Wine Ratings. Italy’s landlocked region, Umbria, produces two DOCG wines: Sagrantino di Montalfaco and Torgiano Rosso Riserva. Sagrantino is a red varietal that’s naturally high in tannin; the finished wines usually require years of cellaring in order to be fully expressive. Torgiano Rosso Riserva is a Sangiovese-dominant red. White wines thrive in coastal Lazio, with much of the production based on the Malvasia and Trebbiano varietals. Montepulciano creates generous, full-bodied reds in the leading appellations Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOC and Montepulciano d’Abruzzo Colline Teramane DOCG. While most consumers recognize Montepulciano for its presence in the wines of Abruzzo, it is also prominent in the Conero Rosso Riserva DOCG wines from Marche. Situated east of Umbria on the Adriatic coast, Marche is also home to the lemony and mineral-driven wines produced from the white varietal Verdicchio, which create a refreshing pairing for seafood dishes. For a full list of reviews, ratings and fun facts about all of these wines, be sure to look through our Central Italy Buying Guide and our Italian white wine reviews.

Join Us on Instagram

See how our customers are using their wine coolers at home.
Follow us @Wineenthusiast | Show us your #WineEnthusiastLife