Buy the Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft) on http://www.wineenthusiast.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft) image
 
(based on 21 ratings)
Located in: Gift Ideas, Standard Cooling
Our brand new units are in! New and improved the newer Grand Cru Cooling Units are quieter and more efficient. After extensive research Wine Enthusiast experts have developed the Grand Cru Cooling System. Breakthrough technology monitors natural air currents in your wine cellar automatically adjusting to fluctuations and maintaining correct temperature and humidity levels. Creating optimal storage conditions these st...
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 21 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(3), Precise temperature(6), Quiet(4)
Cons:
Loud(3)
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring enthusiast(4), Connoisseur(5)
Primary use:
Personal(9)
 
Good value
By ToddVerified Purchaser from Oregon on 5/6/2011
Pros:
Easy to install
Cons:
Fan runs all the time
Best Uses:
Wine cellar
Describe Yourself:
Connoisseur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

We replaced an older version of this unit that had lived a good life but finally died. This version appears to be better built - but the interior circulation fan runs all the time. The early version did not. This is my second unit in 10 years. I Love the unit, does exactly what it is suppose to at a fair price.

 
Grand Cru 4200
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 3/9/2011
Pros:
Affordable
Cons:
Moderately loud
Best Uses:
Cellar
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Unit is adequately attractive. Definitely louder than my previous 10 year old Vintage Keeper. So far it is functioning flawlessly.

 
Effective and loud
By BettyVerified Purchaser from Chapel Hill, NC on 2/9/2011
Pros:
Effective
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
In a basement
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

We have a built- in wine cellar in the basement and so I wasn't too concerned about the noise, but this unit is REALLY noisy. This is our 3rd cooling unit in 16 years, with about a 5 year average, and this is by far the loudest unit we have had. It does seem to run most of the time, but it has only been with us for a week. We'll see. Installation was easy, but the unit is heavy...not a one person job.
The price is reasonable, especially if you know you'll be replacing it in about 5 years regardless of what you pay.

 
I would buy this unit again
By dpohlman from Cedar Rapids, IA on 10/2/2010
Pros:
GREAT value, New model is fairly quiet
Cons:
Needs a bottle temp probe, Runs a lot
Describe Yourself:
Connoisseur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

This is replacing a WhisperCool 4200 that died after 5 years. I am attempting to get the WhisperCool repaired, with the thought that having a spare would be nice. The WhisperCool is a little better unit. The bottle temperature probe option on my WhisperCool kept the unit running less frequently. The Grand Cru unit runs almost constantly.

In the end, I still think the Grand Cru is a great value, but if my WhisperCool can be repaired, I will use the Grand Cru as the backup unit - not the primary unit for reasons listed above.

 
I like this product very much!!
By gary, mr. thurstyVerified Purchaser from wilmington,nc on 9/2/2010
Pros:
Energy Efficient, Precise Temperature
Best Uses:
Bar
Describe Yourself:
Connoisseur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Very easy to install, quiet, steady at holding the temp. Not ugly to look at, great for my size wine cellar..

 
CHECK CAREFULLY BEFORE INSTALLING!
By ABBVerified Purchaser from PHILA,PA on 8/25/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Quiet
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

BEFORE INSTALLING THE UNIT, I OPENED UP THE TOP COVER AND NOTICED THE CONDENSATE HOSE FROM THE COOLING COIL WAS DANGLING LOOSE OVER THE FAN.
HAD I STARTED THE UNIT THIS WOULD HAVE SHORTED OUT THE FAN. AFTER HOOKING THE HOSE UP TO THE CONDENSATE PAN THE UNIT HAS BEEN WORKING FINE.

 
Great Deal
By FredVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 8/12/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Precise Temperature, Quiet
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Works great!!!!!!!!!! Keeps my room at 55 degrees during the summer heatwave and it runs similar to a fridge. Great value for the money....

 
Good Cooling Unit
By cadamsVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 8/9/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Precise Temperature
Cons:
A touch Noisy
Best Uses:
Basement
Describe Yourself:
Connoisseur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

This is a great little unit. It is venting into a storage area in our basement and works great. You can hear it a little upstairs if you stand right above the cellar but it isn't too bad. For the cost savings compared to other units I think it is a great buy. Not ideal if it is close to living space though as it might be annoying. The next room over is our home theatre and I can't here it in there at all which was my only real concern.

 
Good unit - Little noisy
By DarronVerified Reviewer from Atlanta GA on 7/11/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Attractive Design, Low price, Precise Temperature
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Cellar
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

I purchased this unit in May 2010. It cools my 800 cubic foot cellar just fine. It also keeps the cellar within +/- 1 degree of the setting. The unit looks nice and is very functional, especially for the price. The only drawback of this unit in my opinion is that it's noisy, including some low pitch vibration. This is consistent with feedback from other reviewers. My cellar in my unfinished basement, so the noise doesn't really bother me much. If noise and vibration bother you, it might pay to look for a higher end unit.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
4200 CRU a good bargin!
By RubikonVerified Purchaser from Littleton CO on 6/29/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Attractive Design, Precise Temperature, Quiet
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

This model is much quieter and seems to cool much better since it is not turing on and off as often. My cellar is staying right at 57 degrees. I am very pleased with this so far...only time will tell if it truly is quality.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Noisy!
By gmlVerified Purchaser from Ukiah, CA on 5/10/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Precise Temperature
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Commercial Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Taster
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

I just took delivery of this cooling unit. It cools the space, but I would not order again because of the noise.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Unit for the Money
By WineguyVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 4/28/2010
Gift:
No
Pros:
Compact easy to install
Cons:
A little noisy
Best Uses:
Small wine room max 600cf
Describe Yourself:
Connoisseur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Bought this unit to replace a similar sized Winemate cooler that totally rusted out and leaked after only 3 years.
This unit is more compact but is considerably noisier than the Winemate. Seems to cycle on and off about the same at 55`F though.
A little gun shy after the Winemate experience, so purchased the extended 5yr warranty just in case...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Replacement of failed whisperkool
By MattVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 2/17/2010
Pros:
Easy to Install, Good value
Cons:
A bit loud
Best Uses:
Wine
Describe Yourself:
Gourmet Chef
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

This was a replacement for a 3 year old whisperkool that failed. It was easy to install. It works like a champ so far with no water leaks. It is a bit louder than the whisperkool, but at half the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Grand Cru Cooling Unit
By JimVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 11/11/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Easy Installation, Good value
Cons:
Cycles too often, noisy
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Good value. Easy to install. Attractive design. Runs on 15 Amp circuit. Plenty of cooling power. Very loud so not good for installation near living space. Needs an in bottle thermostat. I had to plug into a timer so only runs a few hours a day and still can keep wine at steady temp. Otherwise cycles on and off constantly.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
grand cru 4200
By kcVerified Reviewer from omaha, ne. on 11/4/2009
Gift:
Yes
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

sounds like single engine plane

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would recommend this item
By WinesouthVerified Purchaser from Flowery Branch, GA on 8/5/2009
Gift:
No
Best Uses:
Beverages
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cook
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

If you're on a budget, this is the unit to purchase. A little more noise than the Whispercool, but overall a good cooler.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but could be great
By WineCommonSewer from Phila, Pa on 6/12/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Ease of Installation, Size
Cons:
Runs more than needed
Best Uses:
Small wine cellars
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Thermocouple placement forces unit to run more than it should. I have an extremely weel insulated room and the unit still runs alot. I think having a bottle probe would work better and have the unit run only when needed. This would make this the perfect unit with that installed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product For The Money
By Bob From LAVerified Reviewer from Mandeville LA on 6/4/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Quiet
Cons:
none so far
Best Uses:
Wine Cellar or Closet
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

I have a wine cellar and wine closet that is coustom made to hold over 300 bottles of wine. I started by purchasing the Grand cru 600 for my closet (60 cu ft). Guess what it didn't work... Stay away from this model. However I sent it back and bought the 1600 model and Man oh Man its great!!!!! WORKS LIKE A CHARM SO FAR...

 
Runs constantly
By BobVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis on 2/12/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Very easy to use
Cons:
Fan runs constantly
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Fan motor runs constantly, even when compressor is not cooling.

 
Great price for a great product
By StonerVerified Reviewer from Maryville, Tennessee on 2/1/2009
Gift:
No
Pros:
Consistent preformance, Great price
Cons:
Louder than expected
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

My cooler has been in use for a year without any problems. It keeps my wine cellar at a consisant tempature of 55 without issue. It is a little louder than more expensive units Iv'e seen, but the price more than makes up for the slight downfall.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Keeps the wine cool!
By snuffie5 from Providence Forge, VA on 6/9/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design
Cons:
Runs continually
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Grand Cru 4200 Wine Cellar Cooling Unit (Black) (Max Room Size = 600 Cu Ft):

Easily installed in our wine cellar. Kept things cool (55 F) until we went away for two weeks. Came back to find the temperature registering 67 F and wouldn't get cooler. 'SET' temp was still 55 F factory setting. Not sure what's wrong but if the unit must be sent back, it'll be a real pain to do so.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Wine Enthusiast All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.